SS 12/16/21 Item No. 25

ORDINANCE 2021-12-16-0981

REAPPOINTING CURRENT BOARD MEMBERS ELAINE MENDOZA AS BOARD CHAIRPERSON (MAYORAL APPOINTEE), JOSEPH DE LA GARZA (COUNCIL DISTRICT 3 APPOINTEE), AND DR. RICHARD MIDDLETON (COUNCIL DISTRICT 9 APPOINTEE) TO THE ELEVEN-MEMBER PRE-K 4 SA BOARD OF DIRECTORS (CITY OF SAN ANTONIO'S EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION MUNICIPAL DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION) AS RECOMMENDED BY THE RESPECTIVE CITY COUNCIL MEMBERS FOR A TWO-YEAR TERM FROM JUNE 1, 2021 THROUGH MAY 31, 2023.

* * * * *

WHEREAS, Chapter 379A, Texas Local Government Code (the "Act") authorizes a municipality to create a municipal development corporation to develop and implement programs for (1) early childhood development that prepare each child to enter school and make each child ready to learn after completing the program, that provide educational services to promote literacy, and that establish math, reading, and lifelong learning skills; (2) develop and implement programs for job training, including long-term training and in-training support services grants and awarding of scholarships; and

WHEREAS, the City Council (the "City Council") of the City of San Antonio, Texas (the "City") authorized the creation of the San Antonio Early Childhood Education Municipal Development Corporation (the "Corporation") for the purposes of developing programs in accordance with the Act; and

WHEREAS, the Act requires the City Council to appoint one director to the Board of Directors for the Corporation from each city council district that elects a member to the City Council, plus the Mayor; and

WHEREAS, in compliance with the Act's requirement that Board members terms be staggered so that as near as possible to one-half of the member's terms expire each year, members appointed from odd-numbered districts, as well as the Mayor's appointee, serve terms that begin and expire in odd-numbered years, and members appointed from even-numbered districts serve terms that begin and expire in expire in even-numbered years; and

WHEREAS, City Council members for the named odd-numbered districts make their reappointments or appointments, as the case may be, for Board members for the Corporation with terms beginning June 1, 2021 and ending May 31, 2023; **NOW THEREFORE:**

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. Elaine Mendoza (Board Chairperson and Mayoral Appointee), Joseph De La Garza (Council District 3 Appointee), and Dr. Richard Middleton (Council District 9 Appointee), are all reappointed to the eleven-member Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors (City of San Antonio's Early

SS 12/16/21 Item No. 25

Childhood Education Municipal Development Corporation) as recommended by the respective City Council Members for a two-year term from June 1, 2021 through May 31, 2023.

SECTION 2. This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 16th day of December, 2021.

0 R A V M Ron Nirenberg

ATTEST:

he Kaca Sitte

Debbie Racca-Sittre, Acting City Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

SShah Andrew Segovia, City Attorney



City of San Antonio

City Council Meeting December 16, 2021

25.

2021-12-16-0981

Ordinance reappointing current board members Elaine Mendoza as Board Chairperson (Mayor's Appointee), Joseph De La Garza (Council District 3 Appointee), and Dr. Richard Middleton (Council District 9 Appointee) to the eleven-member Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors (City of San Antonio's Early Childhood Education Municipal Development Corporation) as recommended by the respective City Council Members for a two-year term from June 1, 2021 through May 31, 2023. [Alejandra Lopez, Assistant City Manager; Sarah Baray, Ph.D., CEO, Pre-K 4 SA]

Councilmember Courage moved to Approve on the Consent Agenda. Councilmember Cabello Havrda seconded the motion. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Nirenberg, Bravo, McKee-Rodriguez, Viagran, Rocha Garcia, Castillo, CabelloHavrda, Sandoval, Pelaez, Courage, Perry